Chain guard

Home Forums All Things 750 Twin Technical Garage Chain guard

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi,

I’m quite new to this so hope I am doing it correctly!

I own a lovely 1976 B1 but it has a nasty plastic chain guard. My previous bike – bent frame (not me!) so had to go – had a lovely chrome one. Have possibility of purchase of chrome replacement but it is from a KZ400. will it fit?

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

I would guess not except without some modification and it would probably look odd as it is smaller. Tango has fitted a chainguard from a different bike that looks quite good. He will be along shortly no doubt.

Tango
    Participant

Hi Dibble1

I must congratulate you on the fine choice of a B1. 🙂

The chain guard is I feel an important part of your bike not just safety wise, but visual wise as well. Its a personal preference thing on the looks of it.

You will be able to get something to fit.

Its just going to be a case of looking at other bikes you see, and seeing if you think it can be adapted?

Ill keep me eye out to. 😉

The Mounting points for the chain guard are quite close together on the B1, I think something from a Z1 or a Z650 may be close! 😉

Michael
    Participant

Hi Dipple 1,

I have the swingarms of a KZ400, 1980, and of a B1/B2, 1976/1977 in my spares department.
    Can have a look and try with the chain guards.

Had tested a Z750LTD chrome chainguard at a Z750B swingarm some time ago and as far as I can remember it fitted.
    It is not perfect match as LTD chainguard has two holes in rear chainguard holder but only one can be fitted / used with a B swingarm.

Will do that this weekend and post results.

Cheers, Michael

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

Now that is interesting Michael. I have a spare Chrome chainguard from a CSR if it does fit.

Tango
    Participant

We can try it against mine KK.

Michael
    Participant

CSR and LTD chain guards should be the same.