No idea about motorbikes

Home Forums New Member Introductions No idea about motorbikes

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    AndyMase
    Participant

Hi

Just bought a 1977 z750, I have had a number of bikes but never did anything other than ride them.

I am hoping to learn about how they work and do some restoration, usual issues seem to exist, electric start doesnt work, no neutral light, no high beam light, indicators only flash when revving the engine, slight blow in the left exhaust where it meets the engine.

So any advice on best place to start to understand how these machines work is greatly appreciated

Andy

marksav
    Participant

Welcome ! I’m a newbie aswell but you will get all the help and advise you need on here.

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

Hi AndyMase and welcome to the site.

If you’ve ridden bikes you will have a great understanding of what they can and should do so don’t worry about your lack of spanner experience your already half way there.

This is a pretty quiet site generally but it is full of help and knowledge. These 750 twins are about as basic as you can get so a great place to start learning hands on.

Whereabouts are you from?

With regards to your issues so far they seem quite normal.

Starter motor is a common fault and I would suggest deal with this last as it could get a little in depth.

The neutral light and high beam light not working is probably as simple as a blown bulb. That’s an easy fix. Unscrew and remove the round plastic nut around the ignition switch. The light cover can now be lifted off. Check the suspect lights to see if the bulbs have blown and replace as required. If you can’t tell if the bulbs have blown swap each one with one that works and see if that solves the problem.

Indicators not flashing unless revving the engine is down to tickover voltage. Hopefully for ease that’s a faulty battery but could be down to charging.