Z750 – 43 years on.

Home Forums New Member Introductions Z750 – 43 years on.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    coleighf
    Participant

I bought my first Z750 new in October 1976. Now I am buying another one, but more later.

I have been riding since 1963 and had been running a Norton Commando 850 Mk2A Interstate for 2 1/2 years. I loved it and a few years later had another one, my Norton interest remains and I still have the 650SS I have owned for 52 years. However then I was riding a lot and touring, plus being somewhat depressed at the destruction of Norton by the sit-in at Triumph and deciding that the next new bike couldn’t be a Norton and it certainly wouldn’t be the inferior T140. My brother’s brother in law bought one of the workers’ co-operative Bonnevilles new and it was badly made unreliable junk, so no way. Kawasaki had recently brought out the Z650 and I really wanted one. About then Birmingham Superbike (didn’t survive very long) had just opened in classy new premises on the Bristol Rd. in Birmingham. I cannot remember the name of one of the key partners, but another was Roger Slater of Laverda fame. It was a Kawasaki dealership but also sold Laverdas and BMWs. I’m not a BMW fan now but then I loved the R90S but it was too expensive. I rode a Laverda 750SF and liked it, but then saw the Z750. I had realised that the Z650 was on the small side for two up touring with a load of camping gear, but the Z750  was spot on, so I bought one instead. OOH338R, probably long gone. I rode it home on a crisp sunny late October day, parked it and saw oil dripping. Couldn’t believe it, but it was coming from the sight glass. I went straight back to the dealer and they sorted it. That was the only problem I ever had.