New Member/Owner in Albuquerque, New Mexico

Home Forums New Member Introductions New Member/Owner in Albuquerque, New Mexico

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    KZ_Kon
    Participant

Hi everybody!  I’m happy to find a forum on KZ750 twins.  I think this is the only active forum for these bikes, minus a facebook page I’m on.

My name’s Konstantine.  You can call me Kon.

I’ve been riding for over 30 years.  For 25 of those years it’s been kz900’s, z1 900’s, kz440 belt drive, kz650, Ninja 600, a couple of different Honda CB’s.

I’ve always wanted a 750 twin and had the chance to buy one last September.  Originally, I thought it would be a “wash it, tune it, spray paint some rough spots, ride the hell out of it!”.
    Well, the more I dug into it, the worse things got.  The previous owner didn’t know what he was doing and hacked up just about everything he got his hands on.  Thankfully, the motor itself was in good shape.

I ended up taking the bike down to the frame, getting everything powder coated, and replacing/repairing/rebuilding/upgrading just about everything else.

It’s now mid-June, and I’m ALMOST done.  I just got the bike running for the first time since I bought it.  I just have a handful of small things to do, buy and install some new stainless, braided brake lines, then some body work and paint, and I can finally ride!!!  I can’t wait!

I’ve recently moved to Albuquerque.  Exploring and camping by bike are my favorite way to do it, so I’m looking forward to that.  We also have a track within 5 miles, so I plan on doing some track days, as well.

I’m looking forward to chatting with everybody, learning more about these bikes, and posting pics when I have a chance.

– Kon

philpassingham
    Participant

welcome sir,photos please

KZ_Kon
    Participant

Thank you.  I’m glad to be here.

I’ve been uploading photos into the gallery.  Please, let me know if you can’t see them.

KZ_Kon
    Participant