Home Forums New Member Introductions New Member

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Piemuncher
    Participant

I was given a Z750 which is in a sad state, the engine turns the tyres hold air and the brakes work, everything else requires attention. Spares seem, quite scarce

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

Hello Piemuncher and welcome.

That is indeed a very sad 750 twin and is quite short of a little TLC, well maybe a lot ha ha.

After saying that it is a doable project but you would have to be in it for the long ride. It looks to me like a 1976-1977 B1 or B2 model. You will have to decide which path you want to take. I would personally would want to restore her to her original glory but that will take a lot of time and money but above all commitment. Most of the parts would need replacing. You are right that parts aren’t as readily available as other models but they are out there. Many can be sourced on ebay which I have been doing for the last 20 years or so and I now have quite a large stock of both new and used parts. I have also sourced many new parts.

I would happily have her given to me but you now have one of the biggest decisions of your life to make.

KK

philpassingham
    Participant

needs philpass input

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

Piemaker your reply is in you profile area. I can supply all you have mentioned. Seat and tailpiece are no problem. Forks start getting a little more technical. I don’t have and standard ones to just send out. You can get replacement tubes though. There is a guy on ebay does them but at £174 not cheap. I’ve used aftermarket tubes from a z900. They are 30mm longer so longer springs or a spacer are required but much cheaper at £95 a pair. I have new and used exhaust systems in both 2 into 1 and 2 into 2 and even complete systems in stainless. It all depends what you want.

Piemuncher
    Participant