Knocking at tick over.

Home Forums All Things 750 Twin Technical Garage How To Fix It Knocking at tick over.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    tony54
    Participant

Hi, im new to the 750 twin, i have a 1983 ltd with 11000 kms, it had been stored since 1986, i fitted a new battery, cleaned the main and pilot jets, the bike is now running but not realy smooth, is the knocking sound normal at tick over, my bike is fitted with Mikuni carbs, and there doesnt seem to be a fast idle on choke, if i start the bike and leave it idle it just stalls, any advice would be handy ,regards Tony.

Mikeonabike
    Participant

Hi Tony, I would check points/timing, balance carbs and maybe turn up tickover up a little.

Mike J

Kaptainkwak
    Keymaster

Hi Tony54

I would initially look at timing but your on electronic ignition so that shouldn’t be an issue.

If the engine revs drop to low (below 1000rpm) the engine does struggle and can make a knocking noise as it slow fights to turn.

That leaves me to carbs. I am guessing that if the bike has been stood for a long period then they could well be gunged up inside. I would suggest taking them off and doing a thorough strip down and clean. Check for any wear and tear and replace parts that look dodgey. There are refurb kits on ebay.

Once cleaned refit, prime and balance them. Also check the rubbers holding the carbs on are in good order. I would also recommend fitting new plugs too.

tony54
    Participant

Hi captain kwak, i took the cabs of today, and dismantled everthing, i did notice that they wernt sync, i cleaned all jets and jet holders, also one float is higher than the other, what is the correct setting?